Yorkshire


You guys. Yorkshire is amazing. And I have a few hundred pictures to show for it.DSC_0448

Maybe it helped that we went in spring, so everything could be green and blooming.

 

DSC_0455

But still–the combination of green hills, stone fences, and picturesque cottages made for some great pictures and good memories.

DSC_0457

The clouds cooperated and did their bit for the making of good pictures too.

DSC_0464

I didn’t realize how much I’d been missing the countryside till I left London for a couple days.  It was so nice to get a break from traffic and houses and people and be able to look further than a couple hundred feet in any direction.

DSC_0467

In other news, my adorable sweet immobile baby has suddenly turned into an attack monster. Everything–from doorstops to computer cords–is fair game, and will get grabbed and put into a slimy little mouth.

DSC_0517

In fact, he’s gotten so adept at crawling his way into everything that we’ve decided he gets a verb of his own: monstering.

DSC_0523

“If you’re going to monster,” we’ll say, “you can start in this corner so it’s harder for you to ruin another computer cord.”

DSC_0531

Thankfully, his monstering skills hadn’t quite developed on this trip to Yorkshire, so he was happy to (mostly) stay put in his carrier.

 

DSC_0549

But now he’s grumping at me (yes, that is also a verb here, in case you were wondering) and saying it’s his bedtime.

DSC_0556

He would be attacking my computer, but that’s not very conducive to any actual blogging, so he’s climbing me instead and pulling my hair.

DSC_0563

Unfortunately, I still have quite a few more pictures to show you. It’s kind of a trial of judgment, because I want to include them all. But looking at a million pictures of other people’s travels is kind of boring after the tenth picture or so, so I cut a few out.

DSC_0566 

In spite of the terrible problem of having too many pictures, our main regret was not having the time to see more. One day felt kind of short!

DSC_0567

And I’ve run out of things to blither on about, so before your start monstering, now that you know such a thing is possible, I will let you look through the last five hundred pictures on your own.
DSC_0571 

And you can envy my self-timer skills on my camera.

DSC_0573

And the sunshine on the river.

DSC_0581 

And the stone bridges 

DSC_0590

And peaceful cows.

DSC_0595 

And…ok, I’ll stop for good now. Maybe I’ll come back and write another post soon. And maybe I will just decide that I like sleeping better. Who knows?

DSC_0609 

DSC_0637

DSC_0640 

DSC_0645

DSC_0648
DSC_0649Bonus points if you can name the poem this made me think of!

4 thoughts on “Yorkshire

  1. Pingback: 2016: Year in Pictures – Milk and Pickles

  2. Aunt Jen

    Spectacular pictures and fabulous prose! The question is, which of those paths did you decide to take? Actually, I think I know the answer to that one.

  3. Mary Cassidy

    I can’t pass this up: The Road not Taken, Robert Frost. “Two paths diverged in a yellow wood…..” I’ve been hearing about Yorkshire and of course London, and of course, JQ. Oh and Annika and Jared.

Tell me what you think!

