Cambridge


I’m not going to be the best tour guide of Cambridge, since there were so many colleges and they were all so beautiful I look at the pictures now and think, “Which one was that?” Maybe it’s because we have the lamest approach to sight-seeing ever: we get there and we walk. A lot. And stop to take some pictures of cool buildings and feed my baby when he gets fed up with walking around in the rain/sleet that can’t decide if it is or isn’t.

DSC_0272

If we think something’s really neat, then we might look for a sign as to what it is and maybe use an app to find out a little more about it. But that’s it. Tours and maps and planning what you want to see are for the weak. Or the highly organized. Let’s just pretend it’s because we’re strong.

DSC_0275

Annnd it appears that I still haven’t quite gotten my camera lens clean after the great baby spit up debacle. So don’t look too closely at any of these pictures.

DSC_0278

We were being cheapskates on this trip too, and didn’t want to pay for admission to any of the various colleges. Which is sad because Jared might (big might) end up going to Cambridge if he can come up with some form of funding, and I wish he could have seen inside one.

DSC_0284

Anyway, we had a lovely day walking around Cambridge with Jared’s mom and sister, who were visiting all the way from the good ol’ USA. By the end of the day we’d clocked around eight miles and I’d worn a hole in my sock.

DSC_0291

As I mentioned earlier, the weather couldn’t make up its mind whether to be sunny or rainy. So on one side of the river, you get blue sky with puffy white clouds in a pastoral British scene and on the other, you get this angry dark sky above the Gothic towers of Christ’s College. (I think. Don’t quote me on that if you find out it’s really some other college!)

DSC_0293

Right after I took that picture, the heavens opened and it started sleeting on us and JQ said he was decidedly not pleased about it. So I carried my screaming baby to the sanctum of Cambridge University Press bookstore (which I didn’t take any pictures of because of said screaming baby), and fed him while Jared acted like a kid in a candy shop. He pored over the stacks, pointing at every other one, “Oh, I own that. I’ve read that one. Got that one on preorder from Amazon but it hasn’t come yet,” ad nauseam. You haven’t seen excitement until you’ve seen Jared in the Political Science section of Cambridge University Press.

DSC_0296

So, old buildings, great bookstore, weird weather, cool trees. You should make it to Cambridge if you have time. And I won’t judge if you take an actual tour.

DSC_0309

As a fond farewell, I leave you with this budding beauty. Spring is truly coming, ya’ll!

DSC_0319

6 thoughts on “Cambridge

  1. Pingback: 2016: Year in Pictures – Milk and Pickles

  2. Jane Eagles

    I have really enjoyed your news and photos and love to remember your visit here.
    Last week I went to stay with Hannah in Newport and bought a new laptop and
    Tablet but I am a slow learner !!
    May God richly bless you.
    Love to all
    Jane E. xxx

  3. Nels Nelson

    I love this post about your visit to Cambridge. You wove it together with such humor! I also think that I know exactly where you’re lame way of touring beautiful places comes from 🙂

    Annie Nelson. Sent from my iPhone

    >

Tell me what you think!

