Gloucester


Every time I tell people I have a blog, they say, “Oh no! What have you written about me??”

We stayed in Gloucester with a super sweet old lady who met my parents more than 25 years ago on their honeymoon. When people asked how we knew her, I had to confess that this was actually the first time I’d met her!

Her whole family was so kind to us–driving us around, showing us the sights, inviting us over for meals. It was the perfect little vacation. I guess it pays to keep up those 25-year-long friendships!
DSC_0109

Gloucester is a beautiful little city. At the center, of course, is Gloucester Cathedral. And I took about a billion pictures of it. . .so, sorry?

DSC_0110

DSC_0112 DSC_0118

DSC_0120 DSC_0122

The sun even decided to shine for us for a few minutes so I could get some pictures with blue sky.

DSC_0125
This house has apparently been standing since the Tudor era.

And, of course, the obligatory inside pictures too.
DSC_0127 The cloisters, as always, were simply beautiful. It’s worth going to see Gloucester Cathedral just for that. DSC_0128

And then there’s the massive East window, the first of its kind. Apparently somewhere on it is the first representation of someone playing golf.
DSC_0138

Continue along the cloisters, and you’ll see a doorway into a courtyard. That was Jared’s favorite place.

DSC_0145

DSC_0146

Anyways, enough with the cathedral pictures. Let’s see some countryside, starting with a quintessential country church.

DSC_0151   A little village called Painswick, made almost entirely of Cotswold stone, was another sight we saw. DSC_0155

This little planter was one of the cutest things ever.
DSC_0156

DSC_0159

And it wouldn’t be complete without at least one photo of those green British fields. So beautiful.

DSC_0167

7 thoughts on “Gloucester

  1. Pingback: 2016: Year in Pictures – Milk and Pickles

  2. Oh, thank you for the lovely photos. You captured the most beautiful aspects of your subjects, I think, and gave just enough examples to make each one special. I do love the cathedral, which I haven’t seen in person, but it reminds me of visiting York Cathedral which was a singular experience, so exalting!

  3. Jennifer

    Annika, your pictures are lovely! The cathedral is spectacular! JQ looks so snugged in — I hope he woke up long enough to see the countryside. It’s crying out, “Paint me!” We love you all — what a lovely family!!!!

    Love,
    AJ and UB

  4. Carson

    Annika,
    You are becoming quite the photographer – these photos, as many of yours are, just beautiful!
    Thank you for sharing.
    Carson

Tell me what you think!

