I Love Vacation


I know this sounds crazy, but school is starting soon. (Yeah, don’t mock me, all you US readers. I understand you’re about to do midterms now. Well, China’s DIFFERENT!) I’m going to have to give up my life of leisure applying for jobs and filling out forms that I’m convinced were invented by someone with a diabolical imagination (sequel to the Screwtape letters right there) and going to Chinese class and tutoring in the afternoons and suck it up and actually work. On my four (4!) classes per week, that I’m hoping will have almost no homework to grade. Sounds pretty miserable, doesn’t it? I hope the tears of pity are dripping down your face right now.

It’s pretty bad that I have no idea how much homework these classes will have–and I’m one week away from starting to teach them. I don’t even know the textbook we’re supposed to use yet. But that’s China for you: keep you on the seat of your pants, they do, and only tell you things when you’re getting mildly nervous about what’s going to happen and what you’re going to teach and wondering if-anyone-shows-up-to-your-classroom-what-are-you-going-to-tell-them and will-they-all-think-I’m-a-confused-American-teenager-that-wandered-into-their-classroom-by-mistake. (Last time, a couple of my students said they wondered if I was one of their classmates. Good for inspiring confidence, that! I should figure out this “mature look” better, I guess.)

DSC_0374
You know you’re not very mature when you still take selfies, right?

But by the time class starts, I will know what I’m supposed to teach, and I will have a textbook. They’re being extra kind this semester and giving us our syllabus and information a total of two days before the semester starts. Two whole days.

So excuse me while I make the most of my break here–you can imagine me lying on the beach reading my favorite book or touring around China seeing the Great Wall and everything else.

DSC_0255
Oh yeah, that’s where I’ll be. Where it’s sunny and warm.

Imagine me there, because in reality, I’ll be planning lessons for my one-on-one students this week and filling out more job application forms while my brain begins to scream in protest. I vacation in style.

13 thoughts on “I Love Vacation

  1. Jacki

    Selfies are ok at any age provided they are tasteful and make your mother smile! What our family noticed about this particular selfie was how very “American” you and Jared are in red, white and blue! You both even coordinate with the seat covers and one unamed member of the family was curious about the little man on the headrest behind Jared. What is the message and the significance of that?? Inquiring minds await…

    1. I hadn’t even noticed our “American” colors, but you’re right!

      I really have no clue what the little man on the headrest is doing–he was some sort of advertisement, but it was in Chinese, so we didn’t know what it was for. Chinese generally have the ugliest advertisements, though!

  2. Your dearest Brother

    Well, I am sure that you will have a wonderful time teaching at the beach. I wonder if you will get a suntan while at it. Hopefully the sun won’t get to your brain and make it scream more!

    1. Umm. . .I hate to rain on your party, but are you sure you’re related to me? Because I just can’t figure out how the sun would make my brain scream more. Unless you’re thinking it’s screaming “More sun, more sun!”, which is totally possible.

Tell me what you think!

