7 Things I Love About China


Since I spend so much time on here grousing about not having hot water to wash my dishes in, you all probably think I’m just sitting around bored out of my mind and hating China. Well, that’s not the case. It’s just that dishes provide such fertile ground for writing. All those food scraps decaying….

Ok, that was sorta gross. But you get the point.

I will tear my mind away from my precious dishes and no hot water, and present you with seven things I love about China.

1. The people.

DSC_0257

Every Chinese person I’ve met here is simply lovely. They always have big smiles, warm hearts, and are full of hope for China. If I had to use only one word to describe China, I think I would use the word “hope.” They work so hard in their studies and really try to learn. And they’ve made us feel welcome here even though we’re strangers and don’t speak the language (even complimenting us on our Chinese when we come out with our few broken words).

2. Ease of transportation.

This week, I’ve been helping with the SOPE tests for Renmin University (basically a 3 minute impromptu speech in English that everyone has to give), and one of the topics was public transportation. The Chinese teacher who was grading the speeches with me proceeded to lecture me on the poor public transportation in America. “Think of the foreigners!” she told me. “What if they want to go around and travel around the city while they’re there but they don’t know their way around? With no public transportation, what will they do?”

I told her I agreed with her, but I wasn’t exactly in charge of whether Columbia, Missouri, had a good bus system or not.

However, Beijing DOES have an excellent public transportation system, and it has definitely helped us out as we’ve been getting to know the city.DSC_0210

3. Going to church here. However, I’ve already written a whole blog post about this one, so I won’t repeat myself here.

4. Having a Kindle with access to Kindle Unlimited.

This isn’t something specific to China, but it’s made giving up our books  a lot easier, since we now have an entire library at our fingertips but don’t have to worry about it upsetting the weight regulations of the airlines.

5. Having our own little apartment.

It’s made it so easy to have students over for parties of Thanksgiving and Christmas. And since we had to leave everything else behind when we left America, it’s nice to still have a little space to call our own.

DSC_0254
Jared in his Captain America sweater just because. You can see a teeny bit of our apartment….

 

6. The food.

I don’t know who could come to China and not love the food. Of course, there are some dishes that are pretty so-so, but overall it’s been fantastic. That doesn’t mean that I wouldn’t love to sit down to a roast beef dinner again. But for now, I’ll stay content with my noodle stir-fry, Chinese dumplings (jiaozi), and oh-so-juicy lamb kebabs. But since I’m horrible at taking pictures of food (I usually only remember once I’ve eaten half!), you don’t get to salivate over any of it.

7. All the amazing historical sights to see.

China has an amazing history. They were inventing ways to feed their people and grow their population while Europe and the West was still stuck in the Crusades (and fighting a gazillion wars with each other when they weren’t fighting Muslims). The chance to see things that are left from that ancient civilization is amazing. So far, we’ve only seen a few things: the Summer Palace, the Old Summer Palace (which I didn’t get pictures of because I didn’t bring my camera), the Forbidden City, the zoo, the museum. But we’re still planning to see more, so stay tuned!

There. Didn’t you admire my fortitude? I didn’t even mention washing dishes ONCE once I got started.

Linking up at This Ain’t the Lyceum for Seven Quick Takes.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “7 Things I Love About China

  1. Scott

    I know this is a bit beside the point of this post, but I’m a graduate of Mizzou, and you’re totally right that the public transportation system there is terrible. They did some overhauls this summer, though, which will hopefully help our international friends a bit.

Tell me what you think!

