Touring the Summer Palace


So, I’m finally doing what y’all expected and posting tourist-y things on this here blog.

The summer palace was the first touristy place we visited, and it was beautiful. It was also packed with people. But it was still beautiful.

We were even super-touristy and took the boat ride to get there, along a beautiful canal filled with boats, swimmers, people fishing out the weeds, a few dogs, and the occasional fisherman.

Unfortunately, I was having some camera issues (as in, my settings got changed from automatic focus and I didn’t know it!) when we first left, so a few of these are blurry.

Summer Palace Boats
Where we started from.

It was a very peaceful boat ride, with the sun shining in from the water, the boat rocking peacefully, and the tour guide telling a Chinese legend. Sadly, that part was in Chinese, so don’t quiz me on my legendary knowledge of China!

DSC_0892
A cool Chinese dragon boat.
DSC_0903
The boat we rode in.

The first thing we saw when we landed was this bridge. It was extremely tall.

DSC_0901
A neat, very tall, bridge.

And of course, since it WAS very tall, Jared wanted me to climb it. I tried–truly I did–but made it about a third of the way up. I did take a picture of a teeny tiny Jared about 3/4ths of the way up (all the way up was too far!).

DSC_0906
That is Jared, I promise.

That over, we started walking and enjoying the gorgeous views of the lake and mountains. I could see why the Emperor and court would want to relax here for the summer.

DSC_0910
Water, weeping willows…and boat.

Somehow, Chinese emperors liked their bridges. This one’s the bridge of the 27  or 17 arches or something like that, and apparently it’s quite famous.

DSC_0916
Bridge of the 17 arches.

As we walked further, we kept getting closer to the actual palace. The view from far away is almost as good as the close up view.

DSC_0918
The view of the palace itself, from across the lake.

It was guarded by a massive stone gate, so if anyone came into the surrounding area (which was also walled off and gated), they could still be defended.

DSC_0921
See how many people there were?

Once we were inside, there was a really long walkway entirely covered in paintings. Some of them had been defaced for some reason, but I’m not sure why! Apparently it’s the longest walkway of the sort in China.

DSC_0929
Jared admiring the paintings.
DSC_0927
A very ornate entrance.

After walking all the way through the long walkway, we came to the entrance of the temple in the Summer Palace, and, of course, they make you pay more to go inside once you get there!

DSC_0930
The temple from closer up. See how blue the sky is?

I think the monks of the palace used to live here, and apparently they had to do a lot of climbing all day long. There were stairs in the rocks to get to this little building on the very tippy top, and then there were more stairs to the main building.

DSC_0946
It’s a picturesque location, for sure!

We took the safer route of the stairs up to the second level, though. And there were still a lot of them!

DSC_0951
The stairs up, looking down into the courtyard.

But the view from the top was gorgeous. And the best thing? No pollution that day. It really was lovely to see such clear blue skies.

DSC_0953 DSC_0954

Sadly, today we’re back in the realm of pollution levels over 400–and we’re very thankful for our air filters!

I’m sure you’re all tired of hearing me ramble on, (and these pictures take forever to upload), so I’ll save the Forbidden City for another post.

3 thoughts on “Touring the Summer Palace

  1. Pingback: 7 Things I Love About China | Milk and Pickles

  2. Pingback: 12 Photos (plus a few) from 2014 | Milk and Pickles

  3. RC

    Annika, these pictures are so neat! Thanks for sharing them! Though, I will say that I very much enjoy the touristy post, I very much appreciate the general perspective you’ve been giving of what it’s like for you to live in China. I love getting the whole picture of what you’re experiencing. 😀

Tell me what you think!

