Why I Don’t Study–or 5 ways to keep your sanity in school


DSC_0281
A random beach picture, just because it’s pretty.

I’ve always hated the word “studying.” It makes me envision something like slave labor–a tyrant driven, inhuman state where a person pushes himself way past his endurance point and begins to foam at the mouth with all the incredible knowledge he’s attempting to force into his brain. Come test time, he’s little better than a walking carcass, full of nothing but sleeplessness and caffeine and nervousness about the test because, surprisingly, he remembers almost nothing of what he almost killed himself for.

Is it any wonder, with such a jaundiced view of studying, that I forswore it long ago? I have much better things to do with my life than lose sleep or valuable reading time. So here’s what I do instead:

1. Sleep

If I don’t get enough sleep, I can’t stand to be around myself, and I’m guessing most other people can’t stand to be around me either. So just for the sake of my general happiness and sanity, I make sure to get at least 8 hours of sleep each night, and preferably 9 or 10.

 

2. Eat

DSC_0013
Homemade Sourdough Banana Nutella Crepes. Ain’t nobody gonna say we don’t eat well around here!

Taking the time to eat good food every day is extremely important for keeping your health and sanity. Your body simply can’t run well on bad food or not enough food (diet gurus to the contrary!). Saying you don’t have time to make decent real food is like filling your brain with bad movies because you don’t want to take the time to find good ones. It might not kill you immediately, but it limits the amount of good work you can do!

3. Relax/do something for fun

There’s nothing to take your mind off of schoolwork you’d rather not be doing like reading a totally unrelated book or watching a TV show or movie. Far from taking away time from my studies, it simply keeps me from worrying at all hours what I need to be doing next. Blogging also falls into this category–if school takes away my creative abilities, I’m unable to blog because I can’t think of anything to say. But once I’ve unwound enough, I’m able to think somewhat creatively again!

DSC_0215
The best way to relax, of course (at least for the baby!)

 

4. Work hard

Do your assignments, every time, on time. An assignment takes just as much time as you give it, and if you’re giving a three page paper 3 days, nearly all of that three days will be wasted time (I’m speaking from experience here!). However, don’t give yourself less time than you need either. Just learn to manage your time well so that each thing you have to do is done decently and in order.

5. Exercise

When you keep moving, everything’s easier. Go for a bike ride, run up and down 6 flights of stairs, go for a walk if the weather’s nice. Just make sure you move your muscles, because your brain thinks way more clearly when you’re not just sitting around all day!

 

So there you have it–my wonderful recommendations how not to turn into the brain-dead zombie who spends all their time studying! Stress, begone.

 

One thought on “Why I Don’t Study–or 5 ways to keep your sanity in school

  1. Hope

    Susie sent me here. I love this! I found that waiting on those assignments til a reasonable last minute works. Thanks for your words.

Tell me what you think!

